We Know How To Fight Illinois DUI Charges
A DUI arrest can impact more than just your driver’s license. A DUI conviction can place your job, freedom and immigration status in jeopardy. Illinois takes DUI charges seriously; even first-time offenders face harsh consequences and penalties.
You need an attorney who knows how to aggressively fight for your rights. At Consumer Law Group, our DUI lawyers have over 30 decades of combined experience helping defend clients throughout Illinois after a DUI charge. We understand the importance of communication in any legal matter and proudly offer legal representation in English and Spanish. With offices in Chicago, Berwyn, Aurora and Wheeling, we also offer virtual consultations so you can meet with us from the comfort of your home.
What Are The Penalties For A First-Time DUI Conviction?
For a first-time offense in Illinois, you may face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Because a DUI is a Class A misdemeanor, you may face other consequences, including job loss, higher insurance rates and license suspension. If you have a minor in your vehicle while driving under the influence or have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .16 or higher, you will face additional fines and up to 100 hours of community service.
What Are The Penalties For Repeat DUI Offenders In Illinois?
For a second DUI conviction within the same five-year period, you must serve a mandatory sentence of five days in prison or 240 hours of community service. For a third or fourth violation within five years of the previous conviction, the punishment consists of three to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines. If your BAC is .16 (twice the legal limit) or higher, you may face additional penalties. For any violation, you may lose your license or be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Does Blowing Over The Limit On A Breathalyzer Test Make You Automatically Guilty?
Blowing above the legal limit, .08 BAC, on a breathalyzer test does not mean you are automatically guilty and will face a DUI conviction. Roadside breath tests are preliminary and cannot be used as evidence in a DUI case. The breath test given at the police station can be used for evidence in court but will not automatically prove guilt. The experienced attorneys at Consumer Law Group use a 33 point checklist to help fight against your DUI arrest!
Can You Be Deported For Getting Charged With A DUI?
While every case differs, you can face deportation or other immigration consequences after a DUI conviction. If you are an undocumented immigrant in the United States, you face the largest risk of immediate deportation after a DUI charge.
Don’t Delay Your Defense
Delaying your DUI defense can be devastating to the outcome of your case. The sooner you contact an experienced DUI attorney, the better your chance of a positive outcome. Don’t wait to contact us! Call us today at 312-766-7777 or reach out online to schedule a free consultation.